Here at Holgate, we aim to nurture the students in our care and help them achieve to the best of their potential. To facilitate this, our pastoral system consists of four houses (Clumber, Rufford, Sherwood and Thoresby) and tutor time. Each house consists of 10 tutor groups with each tutor group containing approximately 25 students.

Students are placed in the same house as their brothers and sisters but not in the same form group. Having all family members in the same house means that parents will only have to deal with one house team for all of their children at Holgate.

Each house team is made up of a house leader, house learning mentor, 10 form tutors and co-form tutors. Each tutor group has a form captain and a form vice captain as well as a number of students trained to be mentors for younger students.

Assemblies take place with each house once a week and numerous activities take place in the other four tutor periods, including maths problems to solve, cross-curricular literacy tasks to complete each term and a weekly quiz. Each house also takes part in regular competitions and the overall winner for the year wins the prestigious house cup.